Reviews

7.7
Review Score

Score breakdown

Cleanliness
7.8
Comfort
7.3
Property Location
9.2
Facilities
7.3
Staff
7.3
Value
7.2

Reviews

    Theresa
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    October 16, 2018

    Fantastic hostel that will really let you enjoy the Laguna de Quilotoa.

    The price for a private room is just a lot for what you are getting. In Quilotoa we stayed one night and in Baños, we spent $30 more for 3 nights and 4 days. Everything about this hostel is great, so just want to convey that a private room is comfortable, private bathroom and you decide if that is worth what you will pay.
    Breakfast AND dinner are served here which is fantastic! We also thought our private triple was quaint, comfortable and well-heated despite some pretty cold weather. The whole space is also so cute, well decorated, and well set up to make friends if that's what you are looking for.
    us

    Review Score

    6.2
    September 19, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jessica
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    September 7, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    August 25, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Ruth Shervell
    gb

    Review Score

    8.8
    August 21, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Catie H
    us

    Review Score

    8.3
    August 16, 2018

    Good proximity to the loop. Good dinner.

    Trash wasn't emptied from previous reservation.
    The provided dinner was very good, even compared to the other hostels in the quilotoa trek.
    Rodger
    us

    Review Score

    10
    August 16, 2018

    Perfect location - right across the road from the entrance to the crater of the volcano. Good food.

    de

    Review Score

    9.2
    October 23, 2018

    Recommended!

    Great location, hot showers, nice double rooms. Food was tasty!
    Vangelis
    de

    Review Score

    6.7
    October 7, 2018

    Quilotoa is a touristy, expensive place to stay...

    Rooms without windows, cold rooms and cold common area, rooms very loud (you vould hear all doors, the ventilation from the neighbour, all noises from other rooms and common area). No hooks in the room to hang your clothes. For the 33$ for single room bad value for money.
    Location in front of the crater, wifi, in the evening there was live music after dinner...
    Sandra-z
    nl

    Review Score

    8.5
    September 21, 2018

    Nearly perfect

    There was only a small light in the bathroom, hardly any light in the shower. An extra light would be a great improvement. The wifi did work in the rooms. We also missed some coat hooks on the wall or door.
    The room was very nice and clean.
    ie

    Review Score

    7.5
    September 20, 2018
    It was very cold in the evening. We had to ask someone to put the fire on in the common room. Our room was also very cold and took a while to heat up with the heater.
    It was a great location, beside the Laguna.
    de

    Review Score

    5.0
    September 15, 2018

    Great location- but the rest is just ok

    Really small room with small bed for two persons. No hot shower, no mirror in the bathroom. Staff wasn't very polite. Had a piece of metal in the dinner meal!
    The location is great just in front of the quilotoa lake.
    CB
    gb

    Review Score

    5.4
    September 13, 2018
    1. Most uncomfortable bed ever. 2. staff appeared actively irritated to be asked questions! 3. Didn’t know bus timetables.
    Wonderful location and stoves in the rooms were great! No quibble over 30-minute late checkout.
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    September 11, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    sullyman
    ec

    Review Score

    8.3
    September 11, 2018

    A great location for hiking the Quilotoa loop but a bit pricey.

    The cost of the room is too high and the bar has very little choices and their beer is kept at room temperature. The breakfast was nothing special.
    The location of this hostal is perfect if you are hiking the Quilotoa Loop. The individual fireplaces in the room are excellent and pretty much essential as the place is cold. They also have a fireplace in the relaxation room and dining room. The internet was also excellent.
    Dion
    ec

    Review Score

    5.4
    September 10, 2018

    Next time we go to Quilotoa we will find another place to stay.

    The staff were very unfriendly and didn't know how to take care of people. We had our reservation through Booking.Com but they actwd like we had never planned to come. They had a large group come for breakfast and they were obviously more important than their overnight guests because they made all kinds of noise setting up the dining area that night and served them first in the morning. We had to wait until there was room for us to eat breakfast. My daughter couldn't eat her scrambled eggs because they weren't coke enough.
    I liked the location and the cleanliness of our room.
    Rebecca
    au

    Review Score

    8.3
    September 9, 2018
    Food was only average, particularly breakfast.
    Good location right in the town. Cute quirky rooms with fireplaces that they came and lit! A cute communal area with chess etc.
    Nicolas
    us

    Review Score

    6.7
    September 2, 2018
    Construction is happening on both sides of the hostel. Impossible to sleep with the wind knocking around the construction supplies. Constant banging all night long. I wouldn't stay there until the construction is done. Also the shower was terrible, needs updating.
    Food was delicious and staff were really good. Location is phenomenal
    PATRIZIA
    ec

    Review Score

    7.1
    August 23, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sara
    fr

    Review Score

    8.8
    August 20, 2018

    Comfy bed and great location - shame about lighting the fire with petrol though!

    Unfortunately they lit the fire in the bedrooms with gasoline/petrol. This made the whole hotel, and our room, smell like a petrol station, which made me feel very nauseous. I then had to leave my door open to ventilate the room, which kind of defeats the purpose of having a fireplace. Very, very unpleasant! And so unnecessary - just light the fire without it!
    Staff were very friendly and bed was super comfy. Location is also fantastic!
Loading reviews...